The Power Circle.

My blog was supposed to be about photography and writing but all I’ve been doing is posting updates about my photography so I’m back to writing and I’m starting it off with ” The Power Circle “.

I’m guessing my Facebook status update ruffled a lot of feathers this week:

” I’ve lived here for 11 years and I HATE it here! Hate is such a strong word but that is how I feel. Why would I love a country that doesn’t love me back!?

I wasn’t born here but I might as well have been. I was born with a Dutch passport but still they see me as a foreigner. Even if I was born here the color of my skin would not allow me to be Dutch in their eyes.

I’m getting out of here as soon as I can “.

It’s no secret to anybody that knows me that I don’t like it here never have, never will unless something magical  happens. So it’s not like this came out of the blue, how would you feel if you had one dream or goal and you end up in the a place you didn’t want to be in the first place? It’s not because I just came from New York folks! Which raises the next question, everybody that reacted negatively about it never asked how I survived the past 11 years.

In comes ” The Power Circle “ these are not the people I surround myself with but these are extensions of me. If it wasn’t for family or friends I probably wouldn’t have survived this long over here. The core never changes these are the people I’ve known since my younger years and these are only a select few we’ve been through a lot, good and tough times. These are the people who forever taught me to never judge a book by its cover, we are so different but similar in so many ways.

Then there are people who joined ” The Power Circle “ in my twenties which is when my journey here started (Actually I was 19 but the first year doesn’t count). I’ve met so many people during my journey and they’ve all had an influence on the way I view life whether good or bad. And surely I’ve influenced some people in good and bad ways too, the latter I wish not to have on my record at all but that’s the way life works nobody is perfect. I’m a very observant person and I can tell you what somebody’s character is the minute I meet them. But ” life ” has taught me to give everybody a chance no matter what, sadly more often than not my first instinct is always right. The true test of a friendship is controversy and if at the first sign of trouble, difference of opinion or miscommunication these people disappear than that means we were never friends. Why would I want to hangout with somebody or welcome them in my home when the only time they enter the water with me is when it’s clear, I need people who would enter the water with me when it’s murky too. Too many times I have stuck my neck out for somebody only to have it slashed and be left bleeding on the sidewalk. I can count the people I’ve met during this decade that will forever be in my life in some way on two hands (I’m being generous here by counting on two hands).

We’re all big dreamers and big dreams take a longtime to come true, humanity is build in such a way that we all want things to happen yesterday but this is not the way life works. That’s not realistic except for a lucky few even the wall of China was built with one stone at a time. Having such a mentality requires keeping a positive attitude at all times no matter the circumstances. I’m a ” Floater ” (not as in dead body in the water) and it requires a special group of people to let me be who I am because If you turn a ” Floater ” into somebody that walks than you ” kill “ the person. You have no idea how thankful I am of the people in my circle now, I can actually reach out and feel the positivism around me. I turned 30 this year and one thing I noticed that my circle is getting smaller and smaller but my God all the weeds have been weeded out and all that’s left are ” Strong roots “. The future is bright I can’t wait to see what the next decade has in store for me (If I’m lucky enough to live another decade that is, nothing’s promised in life except death).

How do I know this? 2012 has sucked big time in terms of achievements and luck there was one bright spot that got taken away that has been the most difficult thing I ever experienced in my life so fat but all I’m saying is (I’ve seen and held you). In most cases somebody would say life sucks but for some reason I’m very happy! I’m ready for the next step God / Allah had my life planned before I was born.

In the words of Denise we might not be rich financially but we are already rich with family and friends.

The Main Part Of The Power Circle “Rodoël John Rooi”

