Crossing Religion Bridging Cultures.

As promised yesterday in Part 1 I’m releasing the final two pictures of this mini series which includes a portrait of my wife (*hers is also a symbolic self-portrait) and an obvious self-portrait. The thing I love about photography and writing is the freedom that comes with it. You can do whatever you want whether other people like it or not there is nothing like the feeling you get when you take a picture and it comes out exactly the way you saw the picture in your mind. I feel like Vincent van Gogh when I’m satisfied with an image (*maybe I don’t know how Peter felt) simply because it’s something I created.

Whenever I write a draft of something I would like to do in my little black book I forget about everything around me and it’s like I’m living in my own world. Getting lost in my thoughts is something I often do and to me it’s my natural high I don’t need to do drugs to get high just give me freedom and a camera and I’ll get drunk off of these things.

These pictures tell my whole story from the past couple of months and they also tell you my life story. Like I always say in my posts everything I use in my photography has a meaning from the positioning of the light, to how much light I use, the shadows, to how much empty space there is behind the subject, positioning of the flowers, etc. I see photography as art and art is subjective you are entitled to have your own opinion this is why art is so beautiful: Freedom.

© Rodoël John Rooi and © John Rooi Photography, 2011 – 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to © Rodoël John Rooi and © John Rooi Photography with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.